one fine bâtiment

30 Jun

As I was rushing from my new office to the métro, I caught sight of a gorgeous flower box on someone’s balcon.  As my eyes moved across the rest of the façade, I was a bit in awe.  This ‘average’ apartment bâtiment (building), constructed in 1911, has gorgeous ornamentation and statues embellishing many of the balconies throughout.  Take a look:

looking up...

the balcony that drew my attention

Close-up: an angry god to the left...

...and a pensive one to the right

a neighboring balcony (and notice the architect's "signature" to the right)

the two goddesses hanging out

goddess in a half-shell?

and her companion

the building entrance

a close-up of the pediment

 

I wouldn’t mind looking out my window and seeing this everyday, would you?

À bientôt,

k.

 

One Response to “one fine bâtiment”

  1. Sanders July 1, 2011 at 2:59 pm #

    I love your attention to detail, Kat!

Leave a Reply

